top of page
  • Writer's picturethelegallybrunette

New Year, New Attitude: Legally Brunette Returns

Hello, and here we are again.


It has been a while, hasn't it? Probably not the best look for a blogger of any standard, but an extended break often cannot be avoided.


For anyone who subscribed for regular updates, I thank you for your patience and support as writer's block, perfectionist standards and imposter syndrome reared their collective heads. Quite a combination for any writer!


But before we proceed, I would like to wish you a happy New Year, belated though it may be. I recall reading a tweet that published a poll about when a preferable cut-off point would be for this greeting. I believe the result came at around the mid-way point through the month, which is fair, so with a request for grace from readers, I am still within time!


With the New Year well and truly upon us, thousands of voices are published, bringing messages of hope, resolution and motivation during these first crucial days of 2023. The stage is well and truly set, as is the annual tradition, for success, ambitious achievement and a great improvement on the previous year.


There are examples that resonate with me much more than before, even after seeing them for many years beforehand (more or less given my mindset that has come a long way in improving since the pandemic):-


"This will be my year."

"New Year, new me."

"Let's make this the best year ever."


The sentiments are incredibly uplifting, and I wish to add my voice to the symphony, while still remaining grounded and aware of what's realistic. That is the legal mind at work, I'm afraid!


Emerging into the post-pandemic world was a slow, cautious process, still holding onto the aspiration of filling my life with worthwhile pursuits while still remaining safe and respecting the needs of those around me. It was more than enough to have made it through the last year without taking stock of the achievements in a choice moment of reflection (which is something I hope to practice more and more this year):-


* achieved a second year of qualification as a solicitor, taking CPD courses online and in-person, furthering my legal knowledge

* elected as Junior Chamber International Dublin 2022 Local President (which I stepped up to with great honour)

* attended debating training in Edinburgh and Ireland

* travelled to Bruges, Belgium for a European conference

* organised the 2022 JCI Ireland National Convention, hosted at the beautiful Hyatt Centric Hotel, The Liberties

* stepped up to the JCI Ireland National Debating Team, competing at the JCI World Congress, where we competed and won to become the World Champion Debating Team

* maintained good physical and mental health, feeling a renewed sense of energy and improved self image

* pursued the next stage of my professional career in a new legal secondment role

* taking the next step in my leadership journey in JCI, being elected to the JCI Ireland National Board as Director of Individual Development


Even as I read back the list, it is quite impressive. Taking the moment to feel proud is a positive step forward from the imposter days of old.


All of those things and more made 2022 an important year: transition, challenges, learning opportunities, development on a personal and professional basis, exploration of what gives me true peace, and stepping outside the comfort zone of the familiar.


While there was little time to dream, as is often the way of someone with a spark of creativity that is always present, there was ample time to take action on projects and achieve success with a dedicated team, collaborate with valued partners, rebuild, renew and reconnect on every level.


Now looking back as 2023 begins to unfold, the successes have been hard-fought at times, with plenty of testing moments where self-doubt did reign, but they are, above all, absolutely worthwhile.


There is also a realisation as I look back on those achievements, that the common golden thread running through is the notion of stepping up and taking the chance to be bold and surmount the weighty expectations. It is more than enough to simply appreciate a job that is well done rather than perfection personified.


It was often the instance of attempting to manifest a much more confident, driven and motivated attitude towards life, work and personal interests, to work on the blocks that kept me from progressing and to essentially, get out of my own way and embrace


It is that attitude of perfectionism and self-doubt in the ability to succeed that I hope will be abandoned for good in 2023, where the feeling of not being good enough will be banished for good.


The incredibly insightful Aoife O'Brien, host of the 'Happier At Work' podcast and a prolific workshop leader on the prevalent theme of imposter syndrome, offered amazing insight at a training kindly offered to delegates at the JCI Ireland National Convention last October, whereby that feeling of being perceived as an imposter is a common theme in high-achieving professions. Yet I am choosing to not allow this to define me, to resist the temptation to give in and give up.


This is why, dear readers, I am making 2023 the year to thrive. As has been taught during my law school's 'Shrink Me' module at Blackhall Place during the Professional Practice Course for trainees, it is preferable to be in a zone of thriving, growing, developing and prospering, rather than surviving, dealing with anxiety, dread and overwhelm.


Being able to thrive has such meaning for me as a solicitor starting out in her career, who placed a lot of weight on her own shoulders, never mind the expectations of a well-respected profession and not wanting to let anyone down.


It also means taking back control and getting out of my own way when it comes to passion projects, this blog and creative endeavours in the near future.


It means listening to my heart and training my brain to not resist change or upheaval so much, to accept that setbacks can happen and that an oversight or an honest mistake can be resolved with patience, calm and responsibility.


It means nurturing the parts of character that make me unique, not playing the comparison game on social media and in my profession, and becoming the fulfilled leader that embraces every golden opportunity to use that voice and tell the many stories that brought me to this very chapter of my life.


So as we step into this brave, new year of 2023, I hope it will be a successful, memorable and thriving one, where anything is possible, and as Audrey Hepburn once wisely said, "Nothing is impossible. The word itself says 'I'm possible'!"

A young woman with curly dark hair, a white blouse and a blue jacket, smiles in a professional headshot with a dark grey background.
Smile for the camera! Headshot by John Murray Headshots.


Sources & Links:


Aoife O'Brien, 'Happier At Work': https://happieratwork.ie/about/

John Murray Headshots: https://www.johnmurrayheadshots.com/


bottom of page